Pros and Cons: S3A7 Versus Raspberry Pi

raspberrypi
s3a7

I’ve been thinking about the S3A7 and how a lot of its features that are geared toward more serious projects than a Raspberry Pi. I’m just getting started putting this “down on paper.”

Sure, they’re probably aimed at very different users. Raspberry Pi is hobbyists and learners. S3A7 requires higher skills, probably, but is more polished for moving something from prototype to pilot.

In some ways it’s apples and oranges. But I think I’m probably not the only person using both. I have both a Raspberry Pi 2 and Raspberry Pi Zero W in my office. (And a Raspberry Pi 3 with a big 7" LCD screen is in the mail as we speak!) I love them, both for what they allow me to do and learn, and for how much they excite my imagination.

Raspberry Pi Zero W (potato for scale)

I’m currently building a smart mirror for my bathroom, that displays updated information in the morning. (I’m not exactly breaking new ground here, there’s a whole subreddit devoted to the topic.)

Advantages

Quick Boot Time

But I’ve noticed a growing list of features that are very polished with the S3A7. The first one is how the S3A7 boots up almost instantly. There’s no Linux operating system running a file system that, on the Raspberry Pi, is fine for killing power intermittently, but not regularly. If you continue doing that you will run into file system corruption at some point. The Raspberry Pi is just not optimized for low power usage. I think most people have it plugged into the wall or a computer.

More…

I’m going to add some more advantages - hey, and maybe disadvantages - here soon. If you’re familiar with Raspberry Pi, I’d love any comments. I’m learning more day by day and very excited to expand my understanding.